Tau Chapter of Phi Zeta


Phi Zeta is the honor society for veterinary medicine. It originated in 1925 with a group of senior veterinary students in the New York State Veterinary College at Cornell University. With the assistance of a group of faculty members, including the dean of the college, Dr. Veranus A. Moore, the Society was organized and Dean Moore was elected as the first president of the Alpha Chapter. The Society of Phi Zeta was organized in 1929 at a meeting in Detroit, Michigan, and Dean Moore became the first president of the Society. There are currently 32 chapters of the Society of Phi Zeta have been established, one at each of the schools or colleges of Veterinary Medicine in the United States.

Also in 1929, a charter was granted to the School of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, and the Beta Chapter was established. In 1931, the Executive Committee approved the petition of a group from Iowa State College, and the Gamma Chapter was established. Chapters of the Society may be formed at any recognized veterinary medical college or at any other institution of higher learning.

LSU Vet Med Chapter

The Tau Chapter of the Society of Phi Zeta was chartered at LSU Vet Med in 1977, the year LSU graduated its first class of veterinarians.